Understanding the Taekwondo Forms Names and Their Meanings

Taekwondo Forms

Tae Kwon Do, as its popularly known, is an art in itself that refers to self-defense and has its origins in Korea. It’s among the world’s oldest forms of martial arts dating back to 2000 years and has become the most practiced art. It merely refers to the three aspects of martial arts: Tae symbolizing Foot, Kwon symbolizing Hand, and Do meaning art. Thus, it can be called a foot and hand art.

Taekwondo is usually described by many as a way of life, and many of those who practice it is always advised to live according to its tenants. It can be taught as a discipline to anyone who wishes to learn how to be graceful, improve coordination, and pay attention to detail. Tae is also mostly taught to many for self-Defense, thus avoiding injuries during mugging or raping.

It has different Taekwondo forms that are practiced, and all become one beautiful piece of art. I am going to look at each style singularly and give the meanings and their relevance.

1. Taegeuk II Jang

The most basic form specially taught to new students of Taekwondo. Taegeuk symbolizes the beginning of the training just like the way it expresses ‘Keon,’ which is the beginning of all creation in the universe, and also it’s among the 8 Kwaes, which means ‘heaven and yang.’

It’s taught to the new bees to give them the basics of Taekwondo forms. Here you’re shown the basics that are the ready stance, directional movement, blocks, punches, and the kicks.

Related: The Benefits of Taekwondo

2. Taegeuk Ee Jang

Being the second form taught to all the Taekwondo students, the Taegeuk Ee Jang is a symbolism of the ‘Tae.’ ‘Tae’ is amongst the eight divination signs, which signifies outer softness and the individual’s internal firmness.

As a trainee, one should know that they possess an outward softness that involves patience, calmness, and self-control, but this should not be confused because they also possess an inward firmness of principles and disciple.

3. Taegeuk Sam Jang

Taegeuk Sam Jang is the third form of Taekwondo. Sam Jang is a symbolism of ‘Ra’ being among the eight divination signs that represent the ‘hot and bright.’ It fully embodies the aspect of the trainees to have an internal sense of justice and ardor for training.

The trainee is supposed to be able to seek justice and always to train to seek perfection mastery of Taekwondo forms.

4. Taegeuk Sa Jang

It’s the fourth form of taekwondo and its symbolism is based on one of the eight divination signs that’s the ‘Jin.’ ‘Jin’ is a representation of thunder, which means greatness of power and dignity.

The trainee is now trained to have power in punches and kicks. They are shown how also to have the dignity that is bestowed on the Taaekwondo trainer.

5. Taegeuk Oh Jang

WTF or WT Taekwondo Form 5, also called the Taegeuk Oh Jang, is the 5th item of the Taekwondo forms symbolizing the ‘son,’ which is one of the eight divination signs. The sign is a symbolism of wind that is known to be both mighty, forceful, and calm at all scenarios.

The wind is known to possess both strength and weakness. A trainee must know how to hold both his strengths and weaknesses in equal measure. And know how to use both of them to his advantage.

Related: 7 Deadly Taekwondo Kicks

6. Taegeuk Yuk Jang

As you progress the 6th of the Taekwondo forms or Taegeuk Yuk Jang as its popularly known represents the color belt Taekwondo students. They are the non-black belt students. WT describes Taegeuk Yuk Jang as a symbolism of one of the eight divination signs that are known as the ‘Kam.’

‘Kam’ is the mark or representation of water in divination. Water is characterized by its continuous flow and softness. A trainee is supposed to be able to have both perfect circulations in the body and outwardly. They should have the tide in terms of coordination and inform, and this flow should be soft. One should have no obstacle in Taekwondo. The movements should coordinate with the spirit and soul of the trainer.

7. Taegeuk Chil Jang

Still taught to the non-black belt Taekwondo students. According to World Taekwondo, Taegeuk Chil Jang teaches the students basic kicks, strikes, and stances. It stands to symbolize one of the eight divinations signs that’s the ‘Kan.’ The symbol ‘Kan’ is a representation of the mountain. Which, in simple terms, refers to the firmness and ponder.

The student’s kicks, strikes, and stances should not waiver but be as firm as a mountain. If and when you decide to kick, then it’s a kick that the opponent should feel it impacts. Like a mountain, the trainee should be an ever-present figure that cannot be assumed or disputed.

8. Taegeuk Pal Jang

It also endeavors to teach the non-black belt students the basic kicks, strikes, and stances. It’s the last of the Taekwondo forms and is mostly learned by the students who have surpassed the other steps. World Taekwondo has described it as a symbolism of the last of the eight divination signs. The sign being ‘Kon.’

‘Kon’ is a representation of ‘Yin’ and earth, which means in simple language, the beginning, and the end or can also stand to refer to the root and settlement. The Taegeuk Pal Jang marks the end of the forms of Taekwondo. And if the trainee having gotten to this stage is assumed to have mastered all of the forms as mentioned above.

The above are the various forms of Taekwondo and the importance of each in developing a disciplined individual. Whatever the taekwondo from, they all emphasize on simplicity and humbleness of the students during the learning phase.

According to the master of Taekwondo Bruce Lee, he said that we should adopt that which is useful and reject that which is useless. Still, in Taekwondo, all that is taught is useful and must be learned for one to be called a graduate student or master of the Taekwondo art.

Taekwondo Basic Form 1